Conservation Voters of South Carolina Education Fund is dedicated to maximizing the participation of conservation-minded citizens in public policy decisions made at the state and local levels regarding South Carolina's environment and natural resources. Since 2004, Conservation Voters Education Fund has hosted the Conservation Common Agenda, now called the South Carolina Conservation Coalition. The Coalition uses a consensus approach to setting annual Legislative Priorities supported by more than 30 statewide conservation organizations representing over 40,000 members. Conservation Voters Education Fund publishes educational tools and hosts regional projects to better inform decision makers and the public about state and local environmental issues.

Key Programs:
Structure and Funding:
CVSCEF is a statewide 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan organization. Donations are tax-deductible. CVSCEF is governed by a volunteer board of directors.

Resource Sharing Agreement:
CVSCEF reimburses CVSC for services based on the proportion of time expended on behalf of CVSCEF's educational programs. (Legal contract for sharing personnel, equipment, and facilities)

Meet the CVSC Education Fund Board of Directors

Cynthia Powell, Myrtle Beach, Chair: Cynthia is an entrepreneur and Chair of the Winyah Chapter of the South Carolina Sierra Club.

D. Delores Logan, Columbia, Treasurer: Founder and CEO of Allcaregivers, Inc. of Lexington, Delores also serves on the board of the Lexington County Chamber of Commerce and Palmetto Aids Life Support Services (PALSS).

Ryan Nevius, Columbia: Ryan is the former Executive Director of Sustainable Midlands.

Harry Shealy, Ph.D, Aiken: President of the Aiken County Open Land Trust and Vice-Chair of the Hitchcock Foundation, Harry is a retired professor of Biology at University of South Carolina Aiken and former Chair of the CVSC Board of Directors.

Libby Smith, Charleston: A former Board member of the Coastal Conservation League, Libby is currently a businesswoman in the Charleston area.

Lara Winburn, Columbia: Lara is the former Development Director of CVSC, and is now Director of Development at the S.C. Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy.

Meet the CVSC Staff

Ann TimberlakeAnn Timberlake
Executive Director
Ann formerly owned the Purple Cow Grocery, worked in retail sales and marketing, and helped organize the Sierra Club of the Carolinas in the 1970s.
Email Ann
Find out why Ann is a conservation voter
Rebecca HaynesRebecca Haynes
Director of Government Relations
A native of Atlanta and University of Georgia graduate, Rebecca brings over eight years of experience working on water policy with communities, utilities, and agencies, most recently at the Dept. of Health and Environmental Control and American Rivers. She is also active in the community as Founder and former Board Member of the NoMa Bark Park and Past President of the Earlewood Community Citizens Organization.
Email Rebecca
Find out why Rebecca is a conservation voter
Alan HancockAlan Hancock
Policy and Communications Director
Alan directs our communications and energy policy work. A North Carolina native, Alan received a BA and MA from the University of South Carolina in geography. He worked for DHEC for seven years in air quality regulation development and air enforcement.
Email Alan
Find out why Alan is a conservation voter